The New Me

Beautiful Buttercups fill the valley right next door

Since I last wrote an article on this blog, a long time ago… a lot has happened to me physically. On April 19 this year I had a Stroke (Acute Arterial Ischemic Stroke, Vertebrobasilar, Thalamic) and have some annoying numbness in my left hand and my mouth as a result. Of course I was hoping to recover my feeling in my dominant hand, but that hasn’t happened yet. I am still praying every day for that miracle to take place but other miracles happen that keep me hopeful and motivated. Apparently I was blessed that this is the only problem I have since fatalities are common when someone suffers such a stroke. My whole world was shaken with this unfortunate event which happened coincidently the same day my youngest sister Agnes attempted suicide. We are all grateful she survived after two weeks in a coma and is basically healthy and getting better, as I am. What brought on my stroke was the inactivity from my broken foot that took 6 long months to heal. That was I believe the hardest thing I have ever had to live through…I could do nothing on my own and totally depended on my amazing husband for everything. He takes in sickness and in heath very seriously and kept loving on me and caring for me through it all. He is my pearl.

I don’t want to be ranting about how difficult life is but want to let you know why I have been so quiet. In July I started having tremendous Migraine Headaches which actually are still present I am sorry to say. They were triggered by the stroke my neurologist finally admitted. Any kind of stress triggers them. I recently took a month long Online SEO Masterclass to help with my business which was a very hard class but needed to be done. Headaches were tough through it all but I got better at it and learned a tremendous amount of things that were not so clear to me. Life has been quite overwhelming with MRI’s and many doctor appointments which really didn’t help me much. I have a hard time tolerating anything that is not natural, so all the medications for headaches gave me terrible side effects and I had to stop all of them. One wonderful woman told me about Medical Marijuana (or Cannabis) which is now legal here in Maine where I live. Honestly I wasn’t thinking that would even be an option for me because I was thinking: oh no…drugs! When I heard that there are Cannabis Tinctures that are not dope but actually are used for pain for people with autoimmune diseases, cancer and others, the light went on. I have used this for now close to 2 months and the greatest thing is that it helps my sleep as well.  So I am slowly getting my life back. God is good!

merry-christmas-tree-red-patricia-awaparaIn spite of all these intense hurdles, I never closed my Etsy Store. I continue to make new designs and love what I do. Most of my fingers are numb on my left hand but I still can feel them, so I am able to do pretty much everything I like to make… but with more effort and sometime quite a bit of frustration though! Every day I am reminded that I am living a miracle and have another chance at life. I am grateful to be alive. Life sometimes throws you some curves that are tough to handle and you feel like you are climbing a high mountain barefoot, but in the end good comes out of everything if you only believe. With God all things are possible. He is the strength of my heart. I have learned to lean on Him now more than ever.

My favorite scripture comes to mind:  “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (Matt 11:28-30)

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you all

Leave a Reply

