The Lesson

I love gardening but this year because of the overwhelming weed issue here (we live in the country and near the woods) we decided to buy this landscape fabric as they call it, at the suggestion of some greenhouse supply stores. Reluctantly we bought this artificial fabric that was not pretty and quite difficult to use in a garden. You need to de-weed the dirt first, add nutrients etc., then stretch it on top of the virgin garden. Then you take a mat knife and cut openings to put tomato, pepper and other vegetable plants. It’s very tricky and you are planting in the dark so to speak! Can’t see much under there…very unsettling for me.

Garden box in background has been set free from the weeds invasion, other box in foreground is being weeded.

I have as many transparent containers in my kitchen as one can possible get away with…spices, flours, grains, nuts etc…I like seeing them. So planting my garden this year was the most unpleasant experience. It felt like I was cheating and it didn’t feel right. So we plant all this just after returning from out trip in Europe and slowly but surely all the weeds start growing underneath the fabric and popping up like a soufflé…it looked totally ridiculous! The weeds were still there and I believe they were squishing the life out of my vegetable plants. So today, we got the scissors and cut the fabric out of one of the 2 boxes and I felt like I was setting my plants free. I weeded it all and it felt so good to finally be able to see the ground again! I know my plants will love me for it. I am right now looking for straw to cover the ground because I know it works. Maine doesn’t grow wheat so it’s a problem but I am not giving up!

As I was weeding, I was remembering the parable of the wheat and tares (Matt 13:24-30). Why did Jesus ask them to wait till both wheat and weeds are grown to pull the weeds? I found out today. When the weeds are growing for a few weeks they become strong and it’s actually easier to pull them out. I have an 6 X 10 ft garden box and it took me an hour…not so bad! I am so liberated and feel so good to have done that. I felt like I saved my garden!

Lesson: you can’t get rid of a problem and cover it up, it will keep growing. Eventually you have to deal with it and get rid of the nasty stuff in your heart. It has to be taken care of. When that happens freedom comes not only for yourself but for those around you. The root system gets dealt with and life and health flow again!

I’ll let you know what happens next!

The Parable of the Weeds Jesus told them another parable: “The kingdom of heaven is like a man who sowed good seed in his field.  But while everyone was sleeping, his enemy came and sowed weeds among the wheat, and went away. When the wheat sprouted and formed heads, then the weeds also appeared. The owner’s servants came to him and said, ‘Sir, didn’t you sow good seed in your field? Where then did the weeds come from?’ An enemy did this,’ he replied. The servants asked him, ‘Do you want us to go and pull them up?’ ‘No,’ he answered, ‘because while you are pulling the weeds, you may uproot the wheat with them.  Let both grow together until the harvest. At that time I will tell the harvesters: First collect the weeds and tie them in bundles to be burned; then gather the wheat and bring it into my barn.” (Matt 13:24-30)

4 thoughts on “The Lesson

Leave a Reply

