Come to Me…

Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest, Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me,for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”” (Matt 11:28-30)

P1000778.JPGThis is absolutely my favorite Bible Scripture. I have had so much weariness from lack of sleep all these years that sometimes I have just relied totally on God’s strength to function and He has always been faithful in my times of greatest need. He has given me over and over again His supernatural strength.

That yoke mentioned in the scripture is something that keeps us glued to him in everything we do. He goes left, we go left, He takes an unexpected turn and there we go with Him! The picture I keep in mind is the old time oxen yoked together to till a field. One of them couldn’t just decide, I’ve had enough I need a break, that would be a very dangerous idea! Strong as an ox is a very accurate saying. We have a good friend in New Zealand who was driving there in the countryside and the traffic suddenly stopped. There was a huge truck in the ditch. They tried to use a tractor and then a tow truck to move that thing, but it wouldn’t budge. Then a farmer brought his one ox who was able to pull the truck with hardly any effort. That’s the strength he means to give us when we are yoked to Him. If we are really serious about loving him that’s the way it goes. It’s no longer a lone ranger journey it’s a team journey. We can never leave him out of anything! Easier said than done!!!

Oh I have tried and I have been upset and frustrated with Him taking so long to answer my prayers! I have succeeded at surrendering everything into His hands for the most part but more often than none it has been a challenge. How easy it is to get caught up with our daily affairs.  My home online business really keeps me busy, I get side tracked easily and then my focus becomes blurry. I lose sight of Him in the process and his voice gets dimmed. It’s like keeping your cell phone on mute, the calls and text messages come in but you can’t hear them….

When I do not get what I want when I want it this is my pattern:

  • “if you loved me you would take care of this situation…why can’t you?”
  • Next comes the resentment that He doesn’t hear or answer my prayers. He is deaf!
  • Then distance between him and I come and peace goes out the window.
  • It’s like a distance forming between a husband and wife because of resentments
  • Until we say we are sorry because of our attitude there is no peace in the house.
  • We can always blame our issues on the other but that’s usually like spinning our wheels (useless and exhausting)
  • Until we return to this time of intimacy with God, there is no real hope.

I used to teach about Intimacy with God in our seminars and now I am the one who forgot sometimes what it is and got caught up with everything else to distract me from this sad and disturbing, aching place. I have been in that spot for a long time. Prayer has been hard, getting into His word as well! Soaking or resting in His presence has been almost impossible. I know many people have been going through very dry times in their journey with God these past few years but to that point I have, I haven’t encountered any.

I have had to force myself to read the scriptures, and to be honest that hasn’t worked. My lack of interest has been nothing less than torture. Because of moving to a new area, my husband and I ended up with no church…just plain dry land! Now we are going to church and things are looking up. We so need fellowship! Recently we went to a church and they had everything 50% off because they were closing the bookstore. I found a study on the Book of Job and have been digging into that book and have loved it. It has brought me closer to God.

So things are looking up and God hasn’t moved…I have.

I pray that if you are in a dry and desperate place with God that you will not give up and just trust that the silence might just be a dark night of the soul time where He just wants you to keep searching Him even though you can’t feel Him and sometimes He seems completely silent. There is light at the end of the tunnel and hope for all.

He gives power to the weak, And to those who have no might He increases strength.

Even the youths shall faint and be weary, And the young men shall utterly fall,

But those who wait on the Lord Shall renew their strength;

They shall mount up with wings like eagles, 

They shall run and not be weary, They shall walk and not faint.” (Is 40:29-31)

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Come to Me…

  1. I love this analogy of our walk with the Lord. You have captured it just right — just as a farmer yokes together a stronger, more mature oxen with a younger one in need of training, so we are yoked with the Lord. I can certainly identify with the lack of interest in reading the Word. I know I get that way when I am too busy with other things and don’t really take the time to focus on the Lord during my reading. And you’re right — it can be dry as dust when I do that. Thank you for your encouraging words of hope!

    Like

  2. Joyce, thank you for the comment…my lack of interest in the word led me to get busy, it was more the opposite for me. I think my problem was judging God for my circumstances (health issues mostly) and then a thick veil settled between us and everything became painful. I lost many friends in church and ministry because I have a tendency to be too honest with how I feel and that might work in Europe but not here, thus my reticence to writing a blog about reality. It feels a little better now that I started but I know religiosity will not like that. Why is it that as soon as people know you are a christian out there in the world, everyone closes their hearts? I think judgment and condemnation has been so harsh and the love of God is just missing. I want to go back to basics and learn to love at all costs. I love Bill Johnson and always feel God’s Love flowing from him. He doesn’t just preach it he lives it. My Pastor from the church we attended before we moved is his brother in law. Good stuff! I love your blog and can’t believe how very creative you are. Thank you for being you

    Like

  3. Hi Jeanne,

    What an incredible picture of the strength an ox and how Jesus takes on that kind of a burden with us! You’re quoting from one of my all-time favorite verses!

    I, too, have felt some of the pain and have walked through the fog of misunderstandings. I agree with you when you say, “I want to go back to basics and learn to love at all costs.” That’s the road I’m on, as well. It’s good to have company!

    Like

    • Susan, I knew you would be able to relate with that. Yes it is one of my favorites and I just love the image of the yoke. For the longest time I didn’t like it but now I know better than fighting it, it gets you nowhere. I am a visual person so that speaks volumes to me. Thanks for the company. It’s good to know we are on the same journey in one way or another.

      Like

  4. Dennis (fatherheart1) I can imagine you are in a similar place yourself and it’s so difficult to wrap your head around all these things…I guess we are not meant to figure anything but just trust! Sending you a (((((((great big hug))))))))

    Like

Leave a Reply

